Loading... Please wait...

Join Our Mailing List

Aretha Franklin - The Essential: The Columbia Years 2CD

AU $15.90
Usually dispatched within 7 Business Days
Calculated at checkout


Product Description


This two-disc, 40-track anthology collects the key tracks from Aretha Franklin's stay with Columbia Records in the early '60s (1960 – 1965), and they catch the young singer and pianist in her first secular pop recordings - they're not quite soul and they're not gospel and most of them fall to the jazz-pop side of things.

Franklin was already too good a singer (and pianist) not to catch fire in a few of these selections, most notably "Lee Cross," where she lets in some gospel fervor, the elegant "Trouble in Mind," the romping




 1. The Other Woman
 2. Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair
 3. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
 4. Trouble In Mind
 5. Mississippi Goddam
 6. See-Line Woman
 7. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
 8. I Put A Spell On You
 9. Ne Me Quitte Pas
10. Strange Fruit
11. Four Women
12. Sinnerman
13. Do I Move You?


 1. I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
 2. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free
 3. The Glory Of Love (Previously Unreleased)
 4. To Love Somebody
 5. Do What You Gotta Do
 6. Ain't Got No - I Got Life (From the Musical Production "Hair")
 7. Why? (The King of Love Is Dead)
 8. Everyone's Gone to the Moon
 9. Revolution (Pts. 1 and 2)
10. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
11. Who Knows Where The Time Goes
12. Here Comes the Sun
13. Just Like a Woman
14. Funkier Than a Mosquito's Tweeter
15. Rich Girl
16. A Single Woman

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!