Loading... Please wait...

Join Our Mailing List

Johnny Mathis - The Singles 4CD

AU $45.00
Usually dispatched within 7 Business Days
Calculated at checkout


Product Description


Sony Music Entertainment Australia and Columbia Records will celebrate the 80th birthday of legendary crooner Johnny Mathis with the release of 'Johnny Mathis: The Singles,' a definitive four disc anthology.

Born September 30th, 1935, a then-teenaged Johnny Mathis signed with Columbia Records in 1956, first entering the Pop charts the following year with his inaugural Columbia single, "Wonderful! Wonderful!" "Wonderful! Wonderful!" laid the foundation for one of the most remarkable careers in pop music history, leading to a string of singles successes including "It's Not For Me To Say", "Chances Are" and "The Twelfth Of Never".

'Johnny Mathis: The Singles' brings together (for the first time in one anthology) every Johnny Mathis recording which was first issued for the singles market, as well as tracks released exclusively on compilations (1958's 'Johnny's Greatest Hits' - considered the first "greatest hits" collection ever created by the music industry), 1959's 'More Johnny's Greatest Hits' and 1981's 'The First 25 Years- The Silver Anniversary Album').

31 of the 87 tracks on 'Johnny Mathis: The Singles' are being released on CD for the very first time.  The four-disc anthology compiles every non-LP single side released for the label between 1956 and 1981. "When over the course of a career you record as many songs as I have recorded, you tend to forget a few", says Johnny Mathis. "Revisiting this music was a complete surprise. I was thrilled beyond belief that some of the songs that I recorded specifically for single records, some of which had simply disappeared once they had been released, are now going to be heard again. Listening to this collection, not only was I amazed at how great it sounds, but I was being reminded of some songs I had totally forgotten. It is my greatest hope that my fans will share my enthusiasm."

Perhaps best-known for his landmark singles "Chances Are", "It's Not For Me To Say" and "Misty” (which have all been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame), Mathis was one of the very first musical artists to embrace the album concept and record fully-realised thematically and sonically coherent collections of songs.


 1. When Sunny Gets Blue
 2. Wonderful! Wonderful! (#14)
 3. It’s Not For Me To Say (#5)
 4. Warm And Tender
 5. Chances Are (#1)
 6. The Twelfth Of Never (#9)
 7. Wild Is The Wind (#22)
 8. No Love (But Your Love) (#21)
 9. When I Am With You
10. Come To Me
11. All The Time
12. Teacher, Teacher (#21)
13. Let It Rain
14. A Certain Smile (#14)
15. Call Me
16. Stairway To The Sea
17. You Are Beautiful
18. Let’s Love
19. Someone (#35)
20. Very Much In Love


 1. Small World (#20)
 2. You Are Everything To Me
 3. The Story Of Our Love
 4. The Best Of Everything (#62)
 5. Cherie
 6. Starbright
 7. All Is Well
 8. Hey Love
 9. My Love For You (#47)
10. Oh That Feeling
11. How To Handle A Woman
12. While You’re Young
13. Jenny
14. You Set My Heart To Music
15. Should I Wait
16. Laurie, My Love
17. Wasn’t The Summer Short?
18. There You Are
19. Christmas Eve
20. My Kind Of Christmas
21. Sweet Thursday
22. One Look
23. Unaccustomed As I Am
24. Marianna
25. I’ll Never Be Lonely Again


 1. That’s The Way It Is
 2. Gina (#6)
 3. I Love Her That’s Why
 4. What Will My Mary Say (#9)
 5. Quiet Girl
 6. Every Step Of The Way
 7. Sooner Or Later
 8. All The Sad Young Men
 9. I’ll Search My Heart
10. Don’t Talk To Me
11. Long Winter Nights
12. Among The First To Know
13. Night Dreams
14. Whoever You Are, I Love You
15. For All We Know
16. The Last Time I Saw Her
17. Wherefore And Why
18. Darling Lili
19. Sign Of The Dove
20. Christmas Is…
21. I Was There


 1. Ten Times Forever More
 2. Evie
 3. Think About Things
 4. If We Only Have Love
 5. This Way Mary
 6. Sometimes
 7. I
 8. Take Good Care Of Her
 9. Walking Tall
10. Turn The Lights Down
11. The Very First Christmas Day
12. Christmas In The City Of The Angels
13. The Lord’s Prayer
14. When A Child Is Born
15. Nothing Between Us But Love
16. It Doesn’t Have To Hurt Every Time (bonus track)
17. There! I’ve Said It Again (bonus track)
18. Three Times A Lady (bonus track)
19. The Way You Look Tonight (bonus track)

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!