Loading... Please wait...

Join Our Mailing List

Various Artists - Season of Change: Happening Hits Of The Hippy Era 3CD

AU $22.99
Usually dispatched within 7 Business Days
Calculated at checkout


Product Description


The late 60s and early 70s saw a growing disillusionment with middle-class material progress and the general emptiness of life. The political landscape was in Australia was at boiling point with anti-Vietnam war demonstrations, and the beginnings of the women’s movement. People protested, grew their hair and began to reorder their lives. Many dropped-out of school and traditional careers to pursue alternate styles of living. These included more freedom, less work, less ambition and being in touch with nature.

Music too was changing – from psychedelia to songs of ‘tuning-in and dropping-out’, protest and folk-inspired anthems, and the hits that reflected the mood of the time, including ‘splitting’ and hitch-hiking to anywhere to experience ‘life’. Many hippies moved to the country and lived in old farm houses or communes, lived organically and played their music.

“Seasons Of Change Happening Hits Of The Hippy Era”, compiled by Brent James reflects the ‘happening’ music of this period, with charting hits and some much-loved album tracks including Australian artists Colleen Hewett, Doug Ashdown and Digby Richards. The set also includes quintessential tracks from the era with The Grass Roots, Mark Lindsay, JJ Cale, The Cowsills, Zombies and many more. Three ‘far out’ CD’s to take you on that Kombi journey back to that free wheelin’ and free lovin’ time.


CD 1

 1. The Cowsills - Hair
 2. Joe South - Walk A Mile In My Shoes
 3. Christie - San Bernadino
 4. The Troggs - Love Is All Around
 5. Sherbet - Free The People
 6. Doug Ashdown - Georgetown
 7. Jeff Beck - Hi Ho Silver Lining
 8. J.J. Cale - Crazy Mama
 9. Mark Lindsay - Arizona
10. Hans Poulsen - Light Across The Valley
11. Simon & Garfunkel - America
12. Alive And Kicking - Tighter, Tighter
13. Colleen Hewett - Day By Day
14. Amen Corner - (If Paradise Is) Half As Nice
15. The Byrds - Ballad Of Easy Rider
16. Brian Hyland - Gypsy Woman
17. Daddy Cool - Teenage Blues
18. The Zombies - Time Of The Season
19. The First Edition - Just Dropped In (To See What Condition My Condition Is In)
20. Norman Greenbaum - Spirit In The Sky
21. Eric Burdon & The Animals - San Franciscan Nights


 1. Fraternity - Seasons Of Change
 2. The 5th Dimension - Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In
 3. Brian Cadd - Tell The World To Go Away
 4. The Rascals - People Got To Be Free
 5. Ray Stevens - Everything Is Beautiful
 6. The Guess Who - American Woman
 7. Lace - I'm A Gambler
 8. The New Seekers - I'd Like To Teach The World To Sing
 9. The Strangers - Mr President
10. The Grass Roots - Let's Live For Today
11. Masters Apprentices - Think About Tomorrow Today
12. The Hollies - Too Young To Be Married
13. Wallace Collection - Daydream
14. Melanie - Brand New Key
15. Pacific Gas & Electric - Are You Ready?
16. Flake - This Wheels On Fire
17. Bob Dylan - If Not For You
18. Ides Of March - Vehicle
19. Ocean - Put Your Hand In The Hand
20. The Detroit Wheels - Linda Sue Dixon
21. Billy Thorpe And The Aztecs - The Dawn Song

CD 3

 1. Judy Collins - Both Sides Now
 2. Blood, Sweat & Tears - And When I Die
 3. Digby Richards - A Little Piece Of Peace
 4. John Denver - Take Me Home, Country Roads
 5. The Box Tops - Neon Rainbow
 6. Arlo Guthrie - Valley To Pray
 7. Janis Joplin - Me And Bobby McGee
 8. Santana - Oye Como Va
 9. Small Faces - Afterglow Of Your Love
10. Bobby Goldsboro - Can You Feel It
11. Danyel Gerard - Butterfly
12. Traffic - Hole In My Shoe
13. Autumn - Falling
14. Albert Hammond - Free Electric Band
15. Donovan - Atlantis
16. Humble Pie - Natural Born Bugie
17. Neon Philharmonic - Morning Girl
18. Michael Nesmith & The First National Band – Silver Moon
19. The Easybeats - Land Of Make Believe
20. Fleetwood Mac - Albatross
21. Five Man Electrical Band - Signs

Write your own product review

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!